How to Make Money with a Booth
Remember hanging out at your friends wedding and going into the photo booth?
The lights, the props, and sneaking a kiss on camera! You get 3 photos printed out in seconds to cherish for a lifetime.
While everyone is having a blast, enjoying themselves, and drinking the night away the photo booth guy is smiling.
And why shouldn’t he? He’s at an awesome wedding, hanging out with the guests, and just having a good time.
Well… having a good time and making over $200/hour.
So lets talk about what the photo booth business is:
Let’s get down to business:
The photo booth business is simple. You buy a photo booth, have a website setup, and advertise your services online and drive traffic to your website. Then *Poof* you have customers contacting you to rent your photo booth for their wedding, party, quinceanera, retirement party, prom, you name it. The typical photo booth rental for a 3 hour event according to Strike A Pose Photo Booths (that’s me for those that don’t know it) is about $750, depending on where you live.
Your expenses for that event are advertising costs, employee costs (If you used one), and ink/paper. If you advertise using Google the average ad spend to acquire a customer is about $100.
The employee costs are about $20/hour. Depending on how long your booth takes to setup [our setup takes only 5 minutes tops] then your costs can get higher. If you’re running the event then it’s all profit to you. Still, you should always consider the opportunity cost. Was $20/hour worth your time when the rental itself is paying you $200/hour? I highly recommend running your own events at first, learning how everything works, and then when you’re ready to reap the rewards you hire it out. Then you buy a 2nd booth and hire that out too.
The third and final expense is Ink/Paper. These cost you a whopping $10-15 per event. Yup that’s it. This box of paper should last you at least 6 events.
So lets recap the event. $750 3 Hour Rental – $100 Ad Spend – $0 Employee Cost – $15 Paper/Ink = $635 Profit.
If your complete photo booth package, website, and everything to get started cost you lets say $10000 then you could have your investment paid for in under 16 events. Most of our customers do 25+ events their first year. We’ve had some do over 50 events! What other business offers you a 150% + ROI your first year?
Now that you understand the numbers, check out some of my other articles to learn more about the business, what to look for in a photo booth, and more coming soon.
Checkout our businesses Strike A Pose and Famous Photo Booths to learn about our portable photo booths, business training, and websites we can make for you.